Because we know that mastery-based grading inherently brings its own challenges, we have had worked hard to make grade entry as easy and intuitive as possible. We built in auto-saving into the gradebook from day one, behaving much like Google Docs. As you enter scores, JumpRope will save your scores every few seconds in the background (typically every 10 seconds, but it depends on how many changes you're making at a time). Over time, some teachers have told us that they are confused about whether their scores are being saved, and which scores have been saved at any given time. We have a few features to help you make sure that you're scores are saved, and a new feature in our latest release!
The number of scores "pending" is always displayed in the Save button in the top-right.
At any time, you can manually save your scores by clicking on the save button.
The save button will tell you when an auto-save is in progress.
A pop down "flash message" will appear at the very top of the screen when your scores have been saved, indicating the number of scores that have been successfully saved.
If you attempt to close the browser (or browser tab) and/or navigate away from JumpRope to another website while you have unsaved scores, JumpRope will attempt to warn you. (Please note: this does not work in all browsers, but works in Safari, Chrome, Firefox, and Internet Explorer 8+.)
NEW! JumpRope now highlights un-saved scores in yellow until they are successfully saved, making it easy for you to know when all of your scores have been successfully saved. Take a look below!
This update is rolling out to all users over the next couple of days, so keep your eye out for it. We hope that this helps you enter scores with confidence. As always, please let us know below if you have any questions or comments!